The Time I First Heard… July Days

So it was the afternoon of my Year 12 History exam in which I’d studied the Russian and Chinese Revolutions. And I got home from the exam, and I was doing a little browsing on the old Facebook, and one of my friends had “liked” the “July Days”.

And I was sitting there wondering, “why would you like the events in 1917 that took place in Petrograd, Russia, between 3 July and 7 July ( Julian calendar ) (16 July – 20 July, Gregorian calendar ), when soldiers and industrial workers engaged in spontaneous demonstrations against the Russian Provisional Government?

So I clicked. And I listened. And I enjoyed.

And that’s it. You should listen to July Days, because they’re pretty delightful. They remind me a bit of Jet, except I’ve heard that Jet are kind of jerks in person? July Days didn’t seem that way when I saw them, which, you know, is always nice.

Click. Listen. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

