WHIPPED: Week One

Q: What do sprigs of asparagus, apple sauce, self-raising flour, porrige oats and Greek yoghurt have in common?
A: They’re all the choices for this week’s WHIPPED challenge!

Q: What the hell is WHIPPED?!
A:Seeing how Master Chef is about to end, you’re probably looking for a new cooking challenge, right? You should look no further than Becoming Lola’s WHIPPED challenge, which is explained best in her own words:

WHIPPED:
A virtual mystery-ingredient-based baking challenge for food bloggers. Using Jamesoff.net’s random recipe generator (because sadly after thorough research, there is no such thing yet as a random ingredient generator..as there is no need to be I guess) we will concoct happily in our kitchens the most sweet and savory baked goods each week, letting readers be the judge of concept and presentation (no such thing as virtual tasting yet either I’m afraid) and the winner, decided upon by tallying up comments I presume, can get a fun little banner to put on their blog! Requirements…hmm, not many. Just need to join in (comment below!), have a food blog, pick an ingredient that I will blog each week after using the generator, bake, snap pics, post, then wait!

So I chose apple sauce for my ingrediant, and chose to make an apple sauce cake. Which ended up using self-raising flour and rolled oats, too. I’m sorry I couldn’t incorporate the asparagus (no, I’m not).

So without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, my Apple Sauce Cake.

I took some apples, and with my Apple-Peeler-Corer-Slicer-Do-Wacky, I peeled, cored and sliced them up.

And then I put them in a pan, and, once they were squishy, mashed them up with a potato masher, so they became apple sauce.

Meanwhile, while that was cooking, I mixed together 150 grams of self-raising flour, 75 grams of oats, 150 grams of sultanas, a nice big few shakes of cinammon, a little shake of ground ginger, a little shake of cloves and maybe half a cup or so of brown sugar (I wasn’t too exact at the point, you might be able to tell).

When my apples were apple sauce, to them I added two eggs, 100 milligrams of oil, and a dollop of golden syrup.

And then I mixed the two parts together and threw them in a pan.

Mm, gooey. So then I baked it at about 200C, but I didn’t look at the clock – just until it was golden on top, and a skewer came out clean.

I would have liked to do a cream cheese icing on this, but the whole “dairy-free” thing prevented that delicious, delicious icing.

And here is the list of other entries, so check them out, and click the little like button for me πŸ˜€
Or… at least there SHOULD be, but I can’t figure it out :/ So vote on the Becoming Lola post πŸ™‚

2 responses to “WHIPPED: Week One

  1. Voted!!! That sounds yummy!!! Think I’m going to enjoy these posts. Wish I had a kitchen to cook alongside you in!

Leave a Reply

