Getting the Most Out Of A Wardrobe

Now, I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty cheap when it comes to my wardrobe.

Don’t get me wrong, I love fashion, and looking nice, and (most of the time) shopping. BUT, I like to get value for money. I would rather a number of cheaper items than one designer piece. I perfectly understand and agree with the logic of  fashmatics, but as a uni student who works thirteen hours a fortnight, I still like to get as much stuff for as little as possible.

“That’s all well and good,” I hear you say. “But, Ally, why are you telling me about how you don’t spend money on clothes?”

Because!, dear reader, being thrifty means you’ve got to be a little more imaginative when it comes to the clothes you already have.

Here are examples of two pieces from my very own wardrobe which I wear in different ways.

Here is a dress and a cardigan. They are worn here, in the traditional style.

And then again in a not-so-traditional style.

Turning the cardigan back-t0-front gives you a second top, and tucking your dress under gives you a new skirt! Throw in a belt to keep it all together and BAM, new outfit with things you already had!

What handy thrifty wardrobe tips can you share?

(PS – Sorry for my poor photography. I need a tripod. Or photographer.)

8 responses to “Getting the Most Out Of A Wardrobe

  1. so creative!!!

  2. You are a clothes genius! I will definitely be trying this bad boy out tomorrow at uni, be sure to appreciate please

  3. Such a handy tip! Can’t wait to try it out!! 😉

  4. I’m always worried if I wear my clothes in unconventional ways that I’ll look like I woke up having a brainfart and put my clothes on backwards! Sometimes I really do have a brainfart and clothing goes awry (Wore a t-shirt inside out for an entire day not too long ago!) Generally though, I think I’m too square to pull off quirky dressing, which is a shame coz I’d love to have a quirky style.
    My idea of thrifty is shopping at Savers. Man, I love that place!

    • I was worried, too, at first, and then realised that other people don’t know (unless something super crazy is going on) that I’m wearing things like a weirdo unless I tell them!
      I’ve only been to Savers once! Many years ago! I don’t know where any are! Help? 🙂

Leave a Reply

