Walking on Gold

So last year, I bought a pair of shoes from like, Kmart or something, and this year, they were beginning to look a little tired.

20120310-210240.jpg

So, inspired by this tutorial, I decided to give them a new lease on life.

But… Well… You may have noticed I am on a tight budget unashamedly cheap… I like a champagne lifestyle on a lemonade budget. So if I could find an alternative to buying paint that I’d only use for this one project, I had a wonder of what I could use instead.

And, the natural conclusion I came to, of course, was nail polish.

20120310-211422.jpg

Now, in the spirit of cheapness, for the love of the lemonade budget, use a cheap nail polish. I’m pretty sure this cost me all of a two dollar coin. Don’t go around putting OPI or Chanel or whatever on your Kmart shoes only use it on your pricey shoes, right? No, just use something cheap. Because what you do now, is just slop it on.

In the large blocks, I just slopped it on, loads of paint on the brush. But on the trims, where it needed to be a bit neater, I made sure there were no opportunities for drips.

A few coats later, and voila!

20120310-212741.jpg

My cousin Hannah took these happy snaps for me. Cheers, cuz!

20120310-214709.jpg

And now, I can match my shoes to my nail polish!!! Or, if I didn’t just get this lovely manicure done, I would!

20120310-220226.jpg

6 responses to “Walking on Gold

  1. Didn’t have high hopes for the shoes when I started reading, but you totally pulled it off. Nice!

    Bug @ Bugwear
    xx

  2. They are awesome Ally!! And love your new manicure. Soooo Cute!!!!

  3. Beautiful! They looked even better in real life :)

Leave a Reply

