(Most Of The*) Books I Read in 2011

I like to keep a list of all the books I read in a year. Honestly, this year was my worst in terms of quantity since I started keeping these lists three years ago. My bad. I’ll do better this year. Promise. I think my problem was I read lots off half books. Like, I’d start… And then not finish. Poor form.

Also, (and this explains the asterisk in the title) I kept the list in my diary this year, and, as you may have seen in my 50 Things post, I lost my diary in April. So I remembered most of the ones I’d read in the earlier months, but I think I forgot two or three.

So here we go. Italics mean I’ve read it before. Bold means twice this year.

1. “1984″ – George Orwell
2. “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” – JK Rowling
3. “Lord of the Rings: the Two Towers” – JRR Tolkien (began in 2010)
4. “Princess Diaries” – Meg Cabot
5. “Princess Diaries: Take Two” – Meg Cabot
6. “Princess Diaries: Third Time Lucky” – Meg Cabot
7. “Finnikin of the Rock” – Melina Marchetta
8. “The Song of an Innocent Bystander” – Ian Bone

9. “No and Me” – Delphine de Vigan
10. “Princess Diaries: Mia Goes Fourth” – Meg Cabot
11. “Socialnomics: How Social Media Transforms the Way We Live and Do Business. Revised and Updated” – Erik Qualman
12. “The Messenger” – Markus Zusak
13. “The Book Thief” – Markus Zusak
14. “The Last Little Blue Envelope” – Maureen Johnson
15. “The Assassination of Marilyn Monroe” – Donald H. Wolfe
16. “Let It Snow” – John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle
17. “Looking For Alaska” – John Green
18. “An Abundance of Katherines” – John Green
19. “Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince” JK Rowling
20. “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” JK Rowling
21. “Paper Towns” – John Green

22. “The Picture of Dorian Grey” – Oscar Wilde
23. “The Virgin Suicides” – Jeffrey Eugenides
24. “In Cold Blood” – Truman Capote
25. “Devilish” – Maureen Johnson
26. “Harry, a History” – Melissa Anelli
27. “The Name of the Star” – Maureen Johnson
28. “Will Grayson, Will Grayson” – John Green and David Levithan
29. “Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six Word Memoirs by Famous and Obscure Writers” – famous and obscure writers, I guess.
30. “Book of Longing” – Leonard Cohen
31. “Don’t Stop Now” – Julie Halpern
32. “Bye, Beautiful” – Julia Lawrinson
33. “Froi of the Exiles” – Melina Marchetta
34. “Girl Saves Boy” – Steph Bowe
35. “Diving In” – Kate Cann
36. “In the Deep End” – Kate Cann
37. “Sink or Swim” – Kate Cann
38. “The Half Life of Planets” – Emily Franklin and Brendan Halpin
39. “Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares” – Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
40. “Let It Snow” – John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

9 responses to “(Most Of The*) Books I Read in 2011

  1. So many books. *blinks*

  2. Interesting! I’m curious as to what Leonard cohen’s boom was like, considering he writes such beautiful song lyrics.
    Also, what did you think of the virgin suicides? I read that two years ago and I can’t explain it, but I just found the whole thing unbelievably creepy.

    • Book of poems, so pretty much the same :p most of them were really good, some were a bit weird. I bought it because I’d made a decision to read more poetry, and I flicked the Book of Longing open, and it OPENED TO ALEXANDRA LEAVING! IT’S A SIGN. So that was cool.

      Yeah, the Virgin Suicides was weird. Just kind of uncomfortable, yeah?

  3. Some good books on that list! Loving the Wilde, and the Zusak! (and others too, but those two caught my attention).
    Don’t worry, I set myself a goal of 50 books every year, and only ever get to 40something. This year though, that will change…
    Nice blog!

    • Thanks! I really enjoyed the Picture of Dorian Grey, but one of the several books I didn’t finish last year because I had several on the go at once instead of focusing on one is Wilde’s The Happy Prince (and Other Stories). Decidedly not as good.

      Happy reading!! Let me know if you come across anything good!

  4. I love Leonard Cohen and I haven’t read Book of Longing. Is it as wonderful as his other work?

    • To be honest, the only other Leonard Cohen I know is Hallelujah :P I purchased it on a whim because I had made a conscious decision to read more poetry, and I flipped through the book, and the first poem it opened to was “Alexandra Leaving” – and my name’s Alexandra. I enjoyed the collection though, yeah :)

  5. Great idea! I think I will have to look some of these up.

    x
    Michelle
    http://www.michellesstylefile.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

